Jump to content

Custom Search





Welcome to the Ford Flex Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Ford Flex Forum. Like most online communities, you must register to create topics or post in our community - but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the Ford Flex Forum by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post photos. . .more!
Click here to create an account
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Feel Faster?  We're Now on a Dedicated Server!


Photo
- - - - -

ESN Blank


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hammer40

hammer40

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:United States
  • Current Vehicle:2009 Ford Flex

Posted 15 April 2015 - 04:07 PM

I just purchased a '09 Flex Limited and I was looking to activate Sirius. However I don't see the ESN anywhere. Channel 184 shows nothing and the info page is blank as well. I did call sirius and they gave me the ESN based on the VIN, and gave me another number to call for additional support. The person I spoke to said that the satellite module might be bad. Tried doing a master reset to see if that did anything and no dice. Does anyone know if there is a reset or a way to tell if the module is bad? And if so where is the module located and what should I be searching for online to replace it?

I found the ACM self diagnostic page and ran the tests. I received a 

U201496: Internal SDARS Module failure 
B1A5621: AM/FM antenna failure

FM radio seems to be working fine though. Any ideas?



#2 OFFLINE   GrySql

GrySql

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 223 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:SoCal
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid

Posted 15 April 2015 - 07:42 PM

The Satellite Digital Audio Receiver System (SDARS) Module is built into the ACM.

Satellite Radio

The satellite audio system is comprised of the following:

  • Satellite radio receiver built-in to the ACM
  • Satellite radio antenna
  • Satellite radio antenna cables

===

In addition,  Both the front and rear satellite radio antenna cables are part of the vehicle wiring harness.

The AM/FM antenna is a separate cable.

 

I am not an expert but verifying that each antenna is properly connected may be a start.

If the SDARS is actually bad it might be easier to find a good used ACM in a junkyard and replace the whole unit.

 

Screen%20Shot%202015-04-15%20at%208.40.2


Edited by GrySql, 15 April 2015 - 07:42 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   hammer40

hammer40

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:United States
  • Current Vehicle:2009 Ford Flex

Posted 15 April 2015 - 08:24 PM

Thanks for the info. Ok dumb question time, where is the acm located? The diagram above is for the antenna locations correct? Is the acm in that vicinity or elsewhere?

#4 OFFLINE   GrySql

GrySql

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 223 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:SoCal
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid

Posted 16 April 2015 - 06:30 AM

The ACM is in the whole Entertainment unit in the center console, those cables plug into it.



#5 OFFLINE   hammer40

hammer40

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:United States
  • Current Vehicle:2009 Ford Flex

Posted 16 April 2015 - 12:07 PM

So I found the cables, and I even removed the ACM to check the cables on the rear of it. All look good. AM/FM test comes back good now, but the SDAR error is still there. Any chance that updating the SYNC software might help? I believe this has the original release of SYNC. SYNCMYRIDE says I have a dealer installable update available (9L2T-14D544-BE Gen1 - V2.1)

.



#6 OFFLINE   GrySql

GrySql

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 223 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:SoCal
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid

Posted 16 April 2015 - 01:56 PM

You've been busy!  Since you've had the entire ACM out I'll not post any pictures of that.

The Satellite radio symptom chart says:

 

If the satellite radio is inoperative/does not operate correctly there are three possible sources:

  • Subscription status
  • Satellite radio system concern
  • ACM

--

Regarding a Sync update, that will certainly help the Sync functions of your car probably, not this issue.


Edited by GrySql, 17 April 2015 - 08:28 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   hammer40

hammer40

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:United States
  • Current Vehicle:2009 Ford Flex

Posted 16 April 2015 - 03:36 PM

Thanks again. Guess I need to start looking for an ACM. Do you know if I get another if I will have to take it in to a dealer to be programmed or is it a plug and play deal?

#8 OFFLINE   GrySql

GrySql

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 223 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:SoCal
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid

Posted 16 April 2015 - 04:05 PM

Looks like the Dealer will have to program it:

NOTE: Module configuration is required when a new ACM is being installed.



#9 OFFLINE   hammer40

hammer40

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:United States
  • Current Vehicle:2009 Ford Flex

Posted 16 April 2015 - 07:15 PM

Looks like the Dealer will have to program it:

NOTE: Module configuration is required when a new ACM is being installed.

Thanks again. Now to find an ACM...



#10 OFFLINE   GrySql

GrySql

    New Flex Member

  • Ford Flex Members
  • 223 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:SoCal
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid

Posted 18 April 2015 - 11:15 AM

Thanks again. Now to find an ACM...

I'd stick with a 2009 version, the later models have different programming.








Custom Search




Privacy Policy Terms of Service ·